International Conference


organized by

Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Petroleum Technology

The conference has been postponed. New dates will be announced in due time.

in collaboration with

About the Conference

The conference is being organized by RGIPT in collaboration with Petronet LNG Limited, Oil India Limited, and GAIL (India) Limited. Set up by the Government of India and co-promoted as an energy domain specific institute by ONGC, IOCL, OIL, GAIL, BPCL, HPCL and OIDB, RGIPT has been accorded the eminence of being an 'Institution of National Importance'. The prime objective of this autonomous institute is to provide world class education, training, and research to roll out efficient human resources to meet the growing requirements of the Petroleum & Energy sectors.

Petronet LNG Limited was formed in 1998 as a joint venture by GAIL, ONGC, IOCL and BPCL, to import LNG and set up LNG terminals in the country. Today, it is one of the fastest growing world-class companies in the Indian energy sector. It has the credit of establishing country's first LNG receiving and regasification terminal at Dahej (Gujarat) and Kochi (Kerala) with nominal capacities of 17.5 MMTPA and 5 MMTPA, respectively.

Oil India Limited is a premier Indian national oil company engaged in the business of exploration, development and production of crude oil and natural gas, transportation of crude oil and production of LPG. OIL also provides various E&P related services.

GAIL (India) Limited is the largest state-owned natural gas processing and distribution company in India under the administrative control of the MoPNG. It has business segments of natural gas, liquid hydrocarbon, liquefied petroleum gas transmission, petrochemical, city gas distribution, and exploration and production. GAIL has been conferred with the Maharatna status by the Government of India.

Thrust Areas: Compressed Biogas, CBM, Beyond CNG and LNG, Coal to Gas, Catalytic Combustion, FT Synthesis, Fuel Cells, Gas Reformers, Gas to Liquids, Gas Reserves and Management, Natural Gas Hydrates, Gas Economics, Shale and other Unconventionals, Syn-gas Production, Gas Storage Systems, Petrochemicals, Water Splitting, Hydrogen, City Gas Distribution.


Allan Fogwill

Mr Allan Fogwill

CERI Canada

Dr Anjan Ray

Dr Anjan Ray

CSIR-IIP Dehradun

G S Kapur

Dr G S Kapur

IOCL R&D Center

Rajnish Kumar

Dr Rajnish Kumar

IIT Madras

Sri Sivakumar

Dr Sri Sivakumar

IIT Kanpur

Sanjeev S Katti

Dr Sanjeev S Katti

ONGC Energy Center

Suman L Jain

Dr Suman L Jain

CSIR-IIP, Dehradun

Dr Sudip Maity

Dr Sudip Maity


Jitendra S Sangwai

Dr J S Sangwai

IIT Madras


Dr G D Yadav

ICT, Mumbai


Dr I D Mall

IIT Roorkee

Dr Hee Moon

Dr Hee Moon

Chonnam National University, Republic of Korea

Dr Ganpathy Ayappa

Dr Ganpathy Ayappa

IISc Banglore

Dr K K Pant

Dr K K Pant

IIT Delhi

Dr I M Mishra

Dr I M Mishra

IIT-ISM Dhanbad

Dr G R Kale

Dr G R Kale


Shri D K Sarraf

Shri D K Sarraf


Dr Sunil Kumar

Petrofac International

Dr B P Pandey

Dr B P Pandey

IIT-ISM, Dhanbad

Dr Narendra Kumar

Dr Narendra Kumar

Torrent Gas

Dr Jokhan Ram

Dr Jokhan Ram

ONGC Limited

Suman L Jain

Dr S Dasgupta

CSIR-IIP, Dehradun

Dr Shailendra Tripathi

Dr S Tripathi

CSIR-IIP, Dehradun

Registration and Abstract Submission

Important Dates

Extended abstract submission starts: November 29, 2019

Registration starts: November 29, 2019

Extended abstract submission ends: March 31, 2020

Registration ends: March 31, 2020

Registration fees*

Student: INR 1000

Faculty Members: INR 4000

Delegates from Industry: INR 15000

Overseas Delegates: INR 30000

*Fee includes food, hostel accommodation, and registration kit. The registration fee to be paid by online transfer to the following account:

Account Name: Treasurer, Che RGIPT Conference 2020

Account Number: 59480200000125


Bank: Bank of Baroda

Branch: RGIPT Jais Campus

Branch Code: 5948

MICR Code: 227012204

Refund Policy: Partial refund of 50% of the fees if canceled at least one week before the conference date.

*Bonafide students in paper and poster presentations will be awarded. 1st Prize: Rs. 25,000/- and 2nd Prize: Rs. 10,000 /-, in each category.


Interested may still send the abstract by 31st March 2020 either
through 'Abstract Submission Path, link or by email with the subject line as "Abstract Submission" to the email id:


  • Dr M M Kutty, Secretary, MoPNG, Government of India
  • Shri Prabhat Singh, MD & CEO, Petronet LNG Limited
  • Dr Ashutosh Karnatak, CMD, GAIL (India) Limited
  • Shri D Rajkumar, CMD, BPCL
  • Shri Sanjiv Singh, Chairman, IOCL
  • Professor O N Shrivastava, BHU
  • Dr Pradeep K Singh, Director, CSIR-CIMFR
  • Dr Anjan Ray, Director, CSIR-IIP
  • Dr S Chandrasekhar, Director, CSIR-IICT
  • Professor Ashutosh Sharma, Secretary, DST
  • Shri Sushil C Mishra, CMD, OIL
  • Shri Shashi Shanker, CMD, ONGC Limited
  • Professor Ashwini K Nangia, Director, CSIR-NCL
  • Shri M K Surana, CMD, HPCL
  • Professor B Viswanathan, IIT Madras
  • Professor G D Yadav, Ex-Director, ICT
  • Professor M M Sharma, Ex-Director, ICT
  • Shri Mukesh Ambani, CMD, RIL

National Advisory Committee

  • Dr Sanjeev S Katti, DG, ONGC Energy Center
  • Dr P Chandrasekaran, Director, E&D, OIL
  • Dr S S V Ramakumar, Director, R&D, IOCL
  • Professor K K Pant, IIT Delhi
  • Professor Jayant M Modak, IISc Bangalore
  • Professor Pramod Wangikar, IIT Bombay
  • Professor Anurag Mehra, IIT Bombay
  • Professor Niket Kaisare, IIT Madras
  • Professor Anil Verma, IIT Delhi
  • Professor N C Pradhan, IIT Kharagpur
  • Professor P Selvam, IIT Madras
  • Professor Animangsu Ghatak, IIT Kanpur
  • Professor L M Das, IIT Delhi
  • Shri V K Mishra, Director (Finance), Petronet LNG Ltd.
  • Dr D V Shastry, ED, R&D, GAIL
  • Shri S Bhargava, ED, R&D, BPCL
  • Dr Hari Lal, ED, HoI, KDMIPE
  • Shri R K Malhotra, DG, FIPI
  • Professor Sanjay Mahajani, IIT Bombay
  • Professor C Venkataraman, IIT Bombay

  • Professor Preeti Aghalayam, IIT Madras
  • Professor Sreenivas Jayanti, IIT Madras
  • Dr Shailendra Tripathi, CSIR-IIP
  • Dr R V Jasra, President, CSI
  • Professor I M Mishra, IIT-ISM, Dhanbad
  • Professor Shishir Sinha, IIT Roorkee
  • Professor M K Mondal, IIT BHU

International Advisory Committee

  • Professor Kishore Mohanty, University of Texas at Austin, USA
  • Professor Huen Lee, KAIST, S Korea
  • Professor Amir H Mohammadi, MINES ParisTech, France
  • Professor Praveen Linga, NUS, Singapore
  • Professor Hee Moon, Chonnam National University, South Korea


Organizing Committee


Professor A S K Sinha
Director, RGIPT


Dr Amit Ranjan


Dr U Ojha


Dr Satish Sinha


Shri Gyanendra Sharma

Organizing Secretary

Dr Milan Kumar


Dr Debashis Panda


Dr Tushar Sharma


Dr Koushik Guha Biswas

Hospitality and Local Transport Committee

Dr Chanchal Kundu

Dr V S Sistla

Dr Kavita Srivastav

Dr K G Biswas

Dr Milan Kumar

Manuscript Screening Committee

Dr Rakesh Kumar

Dr Debashis Panda

Dr Saroj K Mishra

Dr Shivanjali Sharma

Press, Publicity and Website Committee

Dr Susham Biswas

Dr Manoj K Rajpoot

Dr Debashish Jena

Printing and Souvenir Committee

Dr Anirban Mukherjee

Dr Arshad Aijaz

Dr Gunjan Agrahari

Hall Management/Audio-visual Committee

Dr Atul Sharma

Dr Gunjan Agrahari

Dr Amit Saxena

Talk Scheduling and Coordination Committee

Dr Milan Kumar

Dr U D Dwivedi

Dr Debashish Jena

Dr Alpesh Kumar

Food and Refreshment Committee

Dr Rohit Bansal

Dr Anirban Mukherjee

Dr Arshad Aijaz