Some of the functionalities will not work if javascript off. Please enable Javascript for it.
Official Website of Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Petroleum Technology, Jais, Amethi, India. / Urja Shakti 2021

Urja Shakti 2021 Award Ceremony

Commenced in 2021, the "Urja Shakti" event is an exemplary initiative by the Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Petroleum Technology to promote women’s presence in the Energy Sector. The initiative by the women and for the women has special importance given its meaning: "Urja" represents the theme of the event - Energy and "Shakti" represents Feminine Power.

The event provides young women an opportunity to understand the various dimensions of the energy sector and strengthen their confidence to plan their careers as leaders and entrepreneurs in this sector by enhancing their knowledge base of prevalent energy technologies, markets, and policies. The ideas presented on the platform of “Urja Shakti” can serve as an effective tool to facilitate women’s empowerment in the energy and allied sector. Even as energy takes centre stage in strengthening the economy of a nation, women are still underrepresented in this sector. In order to promote gender equality in the energy industry, events like “Urja Shakti” will help women participants to develop sound, comprehensive and convincing solutions to overcome the challenges facing the energy industry.

The First Edition of “Urja Shakti” is a national-level thought-provoking write-up competition for female undergraduate engineering students. Nine themes belonging to different sectors of energy were chosen for the competition which are –

  • AI, ML, and IoT Application in Petroleum Industry
  • Automation in Energy Sector
  • Cyber Security in Energy Sector
  • Energy Policies and Climate Change
  • Energy Storage and Utilization
  • Strategies for CO2 Capture and Utilization
  • Unconventional Energy Resources
  • Waste to Energy
  • Zero Waste Energy

The First Edition of the event attracted more than 100 entries received from all over the country. The duly constituted jury selected TEN winners who were rewarded with a cash prize and certificate. First Prize – Rs 30,000/-, Second Prize – Rs 20,000/-, Third Prize – Rs 10,000/- and 07 Consolation Prize of Rs 5,000/- each. The entire prize was sponsored by Indian Oil Corporation Limited.

First Prize

Arya Razdan

B Tech (Petroleum Engineering)
Indian Institute of Technology (ISM)

Second Prize

Riddhi Ravindra Birari

B Tech (Petroleum Engineering)
Parul University

Third Prize

Akansha Bharti

B Tech (Electronics and Communication Engineering)
Graphic Era University

Consolation Prizes

Prachi Maindiratta

B Tech (Applied Petroleum Engineering-Upstream)
University of Petroleum and Energy Studies

Anchal Jain

B Tech (Computer Science and Engineering)
Ram Murti Smarak College of Engineering and Technology


B Tech (Petroleum Engineering)

Ayushi Joshi

B Tech (Chemical Engineering)
Malaviya National Institute of Technology

Nishtha Gupta

B Tech (Mechanical Engineering)
Indian Institute of Technology

Stuti Jain

B Tech (Information Technology)
Motilal Nehru National Institute of Technology

Anugya Singh

B Tech (Petroleum Engineering)
Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Petroleum Technology

“Urja Shakti” Lifetime Achievement Award-2021

On the occasion, “Urja Shakti” Lifetime Achievement Award-2021 was bestowed upon Ms Sukla Mistry, Director (Refineries), Indian Oil Corporation Limited for her outstanding contribution to the refining and petrochemicals operations of the Indian oil and gas sector. RGIPT’s “Urja Shakti” Lifetime Achievement Award (Citation and a Plaque) is presented to honour women energy professionals who have more than 25 years of work experience and have significant contributions to the energy industry.

Award Winners with Urja Shakti Core Team and Chief Guest, Shri Rameswar Teli, Hon'ble Minister of State, Minstry of Petroleum and Natural Gas and Ministry of Labour and Employment, Government of India and Professor A S K Sinha, Director, RGIPT

The “Urja Shakti” award presentation was held in a glittering ceremony on May 18, 2022, coinciding with the Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav celebrations in RGIPT. The winners were presented with the awards jointly by the Chief Guest, Shri Rameshwar Teli, Hon’ble Union Minister of State, Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas, and Ministry of Labour and Employment and Professor A S K Sinha, Director of the host institute. Dr Shivanjali Sharma, Assistant Professor, Department of Petroleum and Geoengineering, RGIPT and Convenor of the “Urja Shakti” conducted the entire event.